Sunday, May 07, 2006


Radiohead's first full band performance in years. Look at that goddamned setlist-- including their first performance of "Let Down" (my all-time fave RH song) in eight MF'ing years.

From the NME:

Radiohead premiere new album
The band kick off their tour in Copenhagen

Radiohead played eight new songs as they kicked off their first tour since 2004 in Copenhagen tonight (May 6).

The band debuted new material from their eagerly awaited seventh album, as well as playing a host of classics at the KB Hall.

The new tracks primarily showcased a return to guitar-driven songs in the style of Radiohead's classic 1995 album 'The Bends', with many featuring the three-pronged attack of Thom Yorke, Jonny Greenwood and Ed O'Brien.

'4 Minute Warning' was the most instantly memorable new song, a classic pop tune featuring Yorke on piano and O'Brien on acoustic guitar.

On 'Bangers 'N' Mash' Yorke sang and played drums alongside Phil Selway [download the video here]. Another new song, 'Spooks', was completely instrumental.

The least typical of the new songs Radiohead played tonight was '15 Step', which had dance beat reminscent of the 'Kid A' track 'Idioteque' (which was also in the set tonight).

Among the other surprises was a surprise airing for the 'OK Computer' track and fan favourite 'Let Down', which appeared in the four-song encore.

Radiohead played tracks from each of their six albums bar 1993 debut 'Pablo Honey'. Among the classics aired were 'Karma Police', 'The Bends' and 'Paranoid Android', which closed the initial set.

The set was:

'Everything In Its Right Place'
'Planet Telex'
'Bangers 'N' Mash'
'Open Pick'
'Karma Police'
'Black Star'
'15 Step'
'Street Spirit (Fade Out)'
'A Wolf At The Door'
'The Bends'
'4 Minute Warning'
'Pyramid Song'
'House Of Cards'
'There There'


'You And Whose Army'
'Let Down'
'Paranoid Android'

Second Encore:


No comments: